Places I want to go

One of my life’s ambitions is to travel. I love the thought of going to new exciting places and experiencing different cultures. I’ve been to Canada, Australia, Spain, France, Switzerland and Lapland. My grandparents live in Switzerland so we go there quite often, as well as Spain because we have an apartment there. I went skiing in Canada when I was younger but I don’t remember it that well. I went to Australia in December of 2014 and it was awesome but I only got a few days out of a few weeks as I wasn’t well, so I’d love to go back there and see more because its so big!

I have a rather extensive list of countries and cities which I’d like to visit. There are too many to explain all of them, so I’ll just tell you my favourites. The first thing on my list is Rio, in Brazil. Whenever I see colourful photos of people dancing in the streets, it makes me want to hop on a plane and join in! It seems like a happy atmosphere, with lots of celebration and music. I love the thought of dancing in the streets with friends and tonnes of other people – a bit of a cheesy image, I know haha!

A few weeks ago, my Aunt went to Bali in Indonesia and ever since I saw photos of her adventures, I’ve been wanting to go. The culture there captures my interest, and I love the peacefulness it appears to have – quite the opposite to Rio, with their music and festivals! One place which really caught my eye was the Pura Besakih Temple complex. It is the largest and holiest temple (of Hindu religion) in Bali. There are so many sets of steps, which look as if they go on forever, with flowers surrounding them. It has a number of temples and different courtyards, which are all considered to be sacred. It appeals to me as a very refreshing kind of place.

San Francisco is one of the more random places on my list. I don’t know much about it, only that it is home to Golden Gate Bridge (which looks pretty impressive) and my favourite TV series, Charmed, was filmed and set there. One thing that always makes me want to live in America, are the houses. To be honest all I have to go on are pictures from social media, so it may not be a completely accurate statement, but the houses/apartments there look awesome! I can’t wait till I have my own house, simply so I can design the inside of it. Whilst on the topic of America, of course New York is on my list. The typical American lifestyle doesn’t appeal to me greatly but I have to admit going to New York would be a good experience. I’d like to go around New Year, so I can watch the celebrations in Times Square. I’m not a fan of massive crowds, as I’m sure the one there would be, but I’m pretty sure it would be worth it!

Going back to more tropical places now. Bora Bora in Tahiti is somewhere I found out about through a book a few years ago. I’d never heard of it before and I was intrigued so I looked it up. I cannot describe how much I’d love to go there. Houses over the water, sea so clear you can see right down to the bottom of it and loads of sun! For some reason, I really like the idea of saving this experience for my honeymoon. It was one of the first places that I put on my list and I really love what I’ve seen of it – only in pictures unfortunately!

I feel like I should write about a place in Europe, considering thats closest to where I live. Amsterdam is probably the one on my list which is easiest to get to. I’ve seen photos of the canal which runs through it and I’d love to hire a boat on a summer afternoon, gently flowing along the water. There are some interesting historical sites, such as the Anne Frank house, which I’d like to visit. Also, my favourite scene from the Fault In Our Stars was filmed there and it looks incredible. In the film it is portrayed as a romantic place, with restaurants looking over the canal and couples cycling through the streets. I love the idea of that kind of atmosphere.

I’ve realised that I’ve written quite a lot – I got fairly carried away imagining all the adventures I could have! I haven’t covered much of my list, but I’ve written about my favourites. Cape Town, Moscow, Madagascar, Mykonos, Hawaii, Venice, California and Santorini are a few others which I have in mind. I hope that I am able to visit at least a few of these awesome places. 🙂

—-None of the above photo’s were taken by me, I found them off google images.—-

5 thoughts on “Places I want to go

Leave a Reply

