Easter Mini Meringues

Happy Easter! I hope your day is filled with chocolate and fun! I thought it would be nice to make some mini Easter meringues because it’s something I’ve never attempted before and I thought it would be fun to do. I also saw them in a video on YouTube and another blog. These would be perfect for a party or just as some nibbles and I promise you they are very easy to make. I’m going to include the recipe below and some photos of the ones I made. Mine didn’t come out perfectly because I think there’s a certain knack to the piping part, which I haven’t quite mastered yet! I don’t bake very often but I really enjoyed doing this and found it quite relaxing.

Ingredients:

3 egg whites

150g caster sugar

1tsp vanilla extract

Gel food colour

White/milk/dark Chocolate

Sprinkles (preferably very colourful!)

Piping bags

Method:

  1. Pre-heat your oven to 110°C (or 90°C for a fan oven).
  2. Seperate the egg whites from the yolk – to do this I pass the yolk from one shell to the other and this generally helps get just the whites. Then whisk the egg whites in a large bowl until they become stiff. I reccomend using an electric whisk for this if you have one, as my hands got very tired trying to use a fork!
  3. Whisk half the caster sugar in with the egg whites. Add the rest of the caster sugar and fold it in. Do make sure you fold instead of stir, because you don’t want the air coming out of your meringues.
  4. Seperate the mixture into 3 different bowls and add some gel food colouring. Again, fold the food colouring in rather than stirring – this is where it went a bit wrong for me because I wasn’t careful enough and they ended up being a bit more liquidy and this made them harder to pipe into meringue shapes.
  5. Line 2 trays with baking paper and grease them.
  6. Put the mixture into piping bags (one for each colour) and gently create little blobs and then pull up to create the point on the meringue. This bit didn’t work very well for me, which is why mine look a bit flat!
  7. Pop them in the oven for 40 minutes. When they come out, leave them to cool for a while.
  8. Melt the chocolate (I used white chocolate, but you can use whatever kind you prefer) in a small bowl and put some sprinkles in another bowl. Dip the flat (bottom) part of your meringue into the chocolate and then into the sprinkles. Make sure they’re completely covered in sprinkles, otherwise they’ll be harder to move once you put them down.
  9. Enjoy your meringues!
2 thoughts on “Easter Mini Meringues

Leave a Reply

