Weekend away – Devon

Hello 🙂 It’s so nice to be back at my computer writing. I haven’t had chance to write or upload a blog post in the last few weeks because exams are coming up so I’ve been busy revising. However, over the weekend my dad and I stayed in Devon – we have an apartment there and he needed to sort some stuff out, so I went with him. It was so refreshing to be by the sea and have a few days of peace and quiet.

We drove there on Friday night and the journey was pretty fun; I did some work and then dried my voice out singing “Climb Every Mountain” from the Sound of Music – not forgetting to stop at McDonalds on the way! We arrived late so it was straight to bed for me.

On Saturday morning I helped my dad clean the sofa’s with this amazing leather cleaning spray and it really worked – or the sofa’s were just that dirty haha. Coincidentally, my brother was on a cricket tour and the match was only an hour and a half away so my dad watched that in the afternoon. I spent a few hours revising but the best part of the day by far was taking my camera down to the beach and snapping a few photos. It was great to be just stolling along the beach with my shoes in one hand and my camera in the other. The sand was shaped into minature deserts, carved out by the rush of waves over them and the sea shimmered in the sunlight. Unfortunately I had picked a very bad choice of footwear for the beach (I have a bad habit of doing this a lot!) and ended up carrying them the entire time so as not to ruin them! I almost tripped over about a thousand rocks but the sea wasn’t too cold and I managed to get some pictures.

When my dad got back from watching the cricket match we went to Country Cousins which is a resturant near to the beach. This was so exciting because we’ve been going there since I was about 5 years old but we hadn’t eaten there for a few years, so the deja vu was unreal! I loved going to this resurant when I was younger – they do a carvery buffet and have the most delicious puddings.

On Sunday I did a bit of revision whilst my dad painted walls and finished cleaning the sofa’s. I went out to get ice creams and walked around for a while. I’m not a big fan of vanilla ice cream but the ones from the ice cream van are SO yummy! We then packed up, loaded the car and drove home!

DSCN3086DSCN3100DSCN3105IMG_1716IMG_1729IMG_1887

One thought on “Weekend away – Devon

Leave a Reply

