Social Media Detox

Hi! I hope you’re well and enjoying the summer! I’m on holiday at the moment and it’s actually hotter in England than it is here, which is a first!

I wanted to do a blog post on social media detoxing because it’s something that I’ve made a habit of doing over the last few months. Like a lot of people I have various social media accounts, including Twitter, Instagram, Facebook and Snapchat. I think they’re a great way to share things, such as holiday photos, news or just everyday thoughts. However, there is often negativity on social media and it can be quite tiring as well as time consuming to be flicking through various sites and then doing the same all over again, like a never-ending cycle.

Sometime last month I decided that I needed to just get away from it and focus more on real life. I don’t spend loads of time on social media but I wanted to have a few days without notifications coming through. I signed out of all my accounts and at first checked them once or twice a day. I was suprised by how much control I felt when I replied to messages/looked on social media on my own terms when I wanted to, rather than when a notification came through. After a day or two I went off it almost completely, only going on it when I needed to contact a friend. I did this for about 5 days and when I signed back into it I didn’t go on it as much.

I think it’s so important that you have time away from your phone/laptop etc to spend with your friends or family. It’s so easy to become wrapped up in what you see on social media but you have to remember that not everything you read is true and what you see may not be the reality, regardless of how happy they may appear to be online. It also gave me time to think about things which had been hanging over me and stressing me out. I also spent more time with friends and my head felt so much clearer afterwards, even when I went back on it.

I love that in this day and age we can document our lives to look back on in the future but it’s good to remember not to get wrapped up in it and focus more on real life.

Megssaskia x

P.S – The featured image is not mine, I found it on google images.

4 thoughts on “Social Media Detox

  1. “I love that in this day and age we can document our lives to look back on in the future but it’s good to remember not to get wrapped up in it and focus more on real life.”

    Because if you forget to live life, what’s there to share? Besides, people are becoming more and more keen in sensing when someone’s making stuff up about their lives.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

